HOME      |       ABOUT US       |       COMMITTEES       |       MEMBERSHIP       |       Contacts
Hyde Park-Kenwood Community Conference
Board of Directors

President: joyclendenning@gmail.com
Vice Presidents:
R Carson
Ismail Turay
Fylynne Crawford
Secretary Emilee Pulver
Treasurer Catherine Celemine

Michael Bradley
Marjorie Bryant
Betsey Budney
Jane Ciacci
George Davis
Stephanie Franklin
Camille Hamilton-Doyle
Allison Hartman
Nina Helstein
Timika Hoffman-Zoller
Racquel Irvin
Mila Jameson
Louise McCurry
Rudy Nimocks
Gary Ossewaarde
Donna Peace
Eric E. Reaves


In 1949, a group of urban pioneers in Hyde Park-Kenwood, facing a radically changing neighborhood, deteriorating property, and increasing crime, banded together to reverse the tide of physical and social deterioration. To do so, the residents formed the Hyde Park-Kenwood Community Conference (HPKCC). The major focus of the new organization was urban renewal, stabilization, an integrated community, and neighborhood safety.

As part of the strategy, the conference formed 20 block clubs in 1950 to help residents in their relationships with each other, diagnose neighborhood problems and take action, and build a greater sense of community.

Although HPKCC concentrated its earliest efforts on upgrading property and zoning codes, it soon became apparent that the community had other needs. Throughout its life the Conference has organized committees and task forces to deal with timely issues. The continuing goal of the Conference is to meet the needs of an ever-changing community.

Programs of the Conference